Monday, March 26, 2012

A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash

Release Date: April 2012

A Land More Kind Than Home is Wiley Cash's debut novel. Cash is a native of North Carolina, where this novel takes place.

Dreamworld's Synopsis

On a hot, lazy afternoon in the small town of Marshall, North Carolina, 9-year-old Jess Hall and his mute, older brother Christopher witness the pastor of their church cavorting with their mother - in their parent's bedroom. Their one brief, tiny glimpse of this episode changes the lives of both boys forever, especially when Pastor Chambliss attempts to "heal" Christopher of his muteness, but ends up killing him instead.

Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Spencerville by Nelson DeMille

Photo courtesy of
Released: October 1994

Former Army lieutenant Nelson DeMille is the bestselling author of numerous series and novels. Originally published in 1994, Spencerville is DeMille's latest stand-alone novel.

Dreamworld's Synopsis

Keith Landry has just retired after spending 25 years doing espionage work for the United States government. With his high school sweetheart - Annie Baxter - fresh on his mind, Keith is deciding to return to and settle down in his hometown of Spencerville, a small Ohio farming town. However, once Keith arrives in town, he realizes that Spencerville has become poisoned over the years thanks to the town's corrupt, local police force. Even worse yet, the man in charge of the police force is Sheriff Cliff Baxter - Annie's husband.

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Heir to the Shadows by Anne Bishop

Released: April 1999

Heir to the Shadows is the 2nd book in the Black Jewels series by the award-winning Anne Bishop. Bishop is also the author of the Tir Alainn and Ephemera series.

Dreamworld's Synopsis

Picking right up where we left off in Daughter of the Blood, the Realms' Witch - Jaenelle Angelline - awakens from her deep slumber more powerful than ever. With her dearest friends and guardians by her side, Jaenelle works on strengthening her powers and helping those in need throughout the Realms - including kindred in the form of wolves and unicorns.

Monday, March 5, 2012

The Furnace by Timothy S. Johnston

Photo courtesy of
Released: September 2011

The Furnace - a "locked-room" sci-fi murder mystery - is Timothy S. Johnston's debut novel.

Dreamworld's Synopsis

Set far in the future in the year 2401, homicide investigator Lt. Kyle Tanner commutes from planet to planet in our solar system tracking down the universe's most pretentious killers. His latest assignment is to investigate a perplexing murder and post-death mutilation on SOLEX One, a remote space station that orbits only kilometers away from the Sun.

Saturday, March 3, 2012

The Wicked Wives by Gus Pelagatti

Released: July 2008

Gus Pelagatti is an experienced trial lawyer with years of experience trying criminal and civil cases. The Wicked Wives is his first novel.

Dreamworld's Synopsis

Based on a true story, The Wicked Wives is a fictionalized account of a major murder scandal that took place in 1936 Philadelphia, in which 17 women were taken into custody on suspicion of murdering their husbands. At the heart of the scandal is Georgia DiSipio, a handsome and seductive man who convinces many of the women to take out insurance policies on their husbands before murdering them. Investigating the scandal is assistant district attorney Tom Rossi, a man intent on ensuring the selfish and murderous women get what they deserve - a lifetime behind bars.