Monday, October 7, 2019

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Photo courtesy of
Released: June 2011

This #1 New York Times Bestseller by Ransom Riggs is absolutely enchanting. The back-cover synopsis didn't prepare me for the lovely story that unfolds during the first half of this novel. Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is the first installment of what is currently a 5-book series, with the fifth book due to release soon in January 2020.

Dreamworld's Synopsis

Teenager Jacob Portman has grown up listening to his paternal grandfather tell stories about monsters and the "peculiar" children with special powers with whom he was raised after escaping Poland during WWII. Jacob never took these stories seriously, thinking his grandfather was making them up for entertainment reasons, and maybe because he was also suffering dementia.