Monday, April 25, 2011

Mini-Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

Released: Fall 2010

Mini-Shopaholic is the sixth book in the wildly hilarious and crazy Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella.

Becky Brandon (nee Bloomwood) is up to her obsessive antics again in Mini-Shopaholic, and this time the obsession in question is a surprise birthday party for her husband Luke. The main catch is that Becky has to be as economical and spend as little money as possible, since a huge financial crisis has England in an uproar. Despite her inability to shop and throw around her husband's money as she normally does, Becky is persistent and dedicated to throwing the most awesome birthday bash ever -- through bartering her precious clothing online, to wearing everything in her wardrobe three times before buying anything new and finally, to shopping at a thrifty shop where everything is only a pound. Oh yeah, not to mention that Becky has the most out-of-control 2-year old girl in the world and must learn how to handle her better.

Mini-Shopaholic is incredibly entertaining, mainly because of Becky's ridiculous ideas and mortifying situations. If I ever feel like an idiot or have awkward moments, all I have to do is pick up a Shopaholic book and Becky makes me feel like the smartest woman in the world. This book will also give mothers sick pleasure in reading about Becky's experiences with her seemingly bratty daughter -- bratty only because Becky's addiction to shopping and inability to say "no" sets a bad example.

Between most chapters, the novel is sprinkled with silly letters Becky writes to nanny companies, financial corporations and the like, which are always super funny. One thing you've got to admire about Becky is her creativity and good heart, which always shines through at the end, allowing her the chance to get lucky when people feel like lending her a hand.

Becky is the biggest pain in the ass but fun to read about, but I admit I was glued to Mini-Shopaholic all the way through. The novel is undoubtedly far-fetched but a perfect escape and leisurely read.

The order of the books in the Shopaholic series are:
1) Confessions Of A Shopaholic (2000)
2) Shopaholic Takes Manhattan (2001)
3) Shopaholic Ties the Knot (2002)
4) Shopaholic and Sister (2004)
5) Shopaholic and Baby (2007)
6) Mini-Shopaholic (2010)

   Shopaholic & Baby   Shopaholic & Sister   Shopaholic Ties the Knot (Shopaholic Series)   Shopaholic Takes Manhattan (Shopaholic Series)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by - can't wait to see what you have to say!