Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Undead and Unfinished by MaryJanice Davidson

Released: July 2010

Undead and Unfinished is the ninth book in the bestselling Queen Betsy vampire series by MaryJanice Davidson.

Just days after Elizabeth "Betsy" Taylor has returned home from meeting with the Wyndham werewolf clan, Betsy begins to feel guilty about her lack of knowledge on the history of her husband Eric Sinclair and assistant Tina. Considering all the dramatic events that have unfolded since Betsy became a vampire, not to mention becoming the "Queen" of all vampires, she realizes she has never had the time to properly get to know her extended family. As if this new task weren't enough to keep her busy, Betsy's dead stepmother (otherwise known as "The" Devil) Antonia, arrives to take Betsy and her sister Laura on a tour of Hell -- after all, Laura will inherit the task of running Hell one day. Laura's newfound talent of time-traveling also adds spice to the latest (and BEST!) novel to date in the series.

Undead and Unfinished is BY FAR the best novel in the Queen Betsy series for many reasons! First, because we have grown to love and know the characters over the previous eight books, the premise of learning more about the history of vampires Tina and Eric is incredibly intriguing. Up to now, we have picked up bits and pieces about Eric's family and his turning into a vampire, but not the explicit details -- including the question of why Tina and Eric have never been lovers.

In addition, the time-traveling aspect adds a whole new element to the plot, as it satisfies numerous curiosities and opens up pertinent plot points for upcoming novels. The story behind the creation of The Book of the Dead is lightly touched on and the novel's ending is a complete shocker -- in fact, I had to read it over again several times to make sure I grasped what was actually happening. Wow! The plot certainly does thicken as MaryJanice Davidson has promised us in the last few author introductions.

Hardcore fans will absolutely LOVE reading Undead and Unfinished, while those who enjoy the series on a moderate level or those who have considered giving up lately will completely, undoubtedly change their minds. Undead and Unfinished is not to be missed!

The next novel in the series is Undead and Undermined, due to release July 2011. Books seven and eight in the series are Undead and Unworthy (2008) and Undead and Unwelcome (2009).

More reviews on Queen Betsy vampire series:
Dreamworld Book Reviews -- Undead and Unworthy
Dreamworld Book Reviews -- Undead and Unwelcome

           Undead and Unworthy (Queen Betsy, Book 7)     Undead and Unwelcome (Queen Betsy, Book 8)     Undead and Undermined (Undead/Queen Betsy)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by - can't wait to see what you have to say!