Friday, May 7, 2010

Undead and Unworthy by MaryJanice Davidson

Released: 2009

The author's "Queen Betsy" series continues with book #7, Undead and Unworthy.

The "Undead" series has always been lots of fun to read! The humor is easy and you can always count on MaryJanice Davidson for a pick-me-up if one is needed. Undead and Unworthy however, falls short in the humor category, and isn't one of the best I've read in this series.

In this particular novel, Betsy and Sinclair are haunted by insufferable ghosts and ancient vampires coming to exact revenge on the duo. Davidson prefaces the book as being the first part of a new "trilogy" in the Undead series, preparing us for something earth-moving and shocking, or perhaps a new discovery in the series' core plot.

Although the novel is more serious and reads more like drama versus romance, I'm still as enchanted by the book as I'd hoped to be. Undead and Unworthy is a fast and fun read and I LOVE the pop-culture references, but I missed a lot of the humor the previous books held.

I'm still a fan of MaryJanice Davidson, but I truly hope the second part of this "trilogy" is more interesting and engaging than Undead and Unworthy.

The series starts with Undead and Unwed, following with Undead and Unemployed, then Undead and Unappreciated.

    Undead and Unwed (Queen Betsy, Book 1)   Undead and Unemployed (Queen Betsy, Book 2)   Undead and Unappreciated (Queen Betsy, Book 3) (Berkley Sensation)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by - can't wait to see what you have to say!