Saturday, May 8, 2010

Magic Study by Maria V Snyder

Photo courtesy of
: September 2006

Magic Study is the second book in the "Study / Chronicles of Ixia" series by Maria V. Snyder. This series follows the adventures of Yelena Zaltana—a former prisoner of Ixia condemned to death row, but who escaped execution upon being hired as a poison taster for the king.

In Magic Study, Yelena trains to become a magician to capitalize on her natural magical talents. After escaping the kingdom, Yelena meets her estranged family members who teach her how to tap into her natural powers. Compared with the first novel in this series (Poison Study), Magic Study is far less intriguing and action-packed, but takes us deeper into Yelena's background to set us up for the next book. Magic Study is comprised mostly of training sequences as Yelena embraces her talent, but is worth the read given this series is fantastic!

Here are books in the Chronicles of Ixia series by Maria V. Snyder as featured on

  1. Poison Study (2005)
  2. Magic Study (2006)
  3. Fire Study (2008)
  4. Shadow Study (2015)
  5. Night Study (2016)
  6. Dawn Study (2017)

Have you read the Study series by Maria V Snyder, and if so, what did you think? Share your thoughts in the comments section below!


  1. I found the description of the rape in the first book quite disturbing. Is there anything like that in this one?

  2. Now that you mention it, the rape in the first book WAS disturbing, I remember it!

    Thankfully, there are no rape scenes in this book!


Thanks for stopping by - can't wait to see what you have to say!