Friday, March 4, 2011

Undead and Unwelcome by MaryJanice Davidson

Released: June 2009

Undead and Unwelcome is the eighth book in MaryJanice Davidson's paranormal Queen Betsy series, featuring vampire Betsy and her quirky cast of friends and lovers.

In Undead and Unwelcome, Betsy and her husband Eric Sinclair are off to the Wyndham "Werewolf" Mansion located in Cape Cod to deliver Antonia, a newly-dead werewolf killed while under the vampires' supervision. In addition, Betsy must be questioned by the Council -- which is comprised of prominent werewolves -- in order to determine how and why one of their own was killed in the presence of vampires. Meanwhile, back at home, Betsy's homosexual doctor friend Marc is journaling strange going-ons pertaining to Betsy's half-demon sister Laura. Eventually, vampire Betsy and demon Laura must have a confrontation when the "Sink-Lairs" return home.

Each book in the Queen Betsy series is short, fast-paced, and ha-ha amusing; perfect for a few hours worth of escape. Readers who have not read the previous seven books may not appreciate or understand Undead and Unwelcome because it picks up just moments after book seven ends, which is called Undead and Unworthy.

There are times throughout reading the Undead series when the stories are too fast, and it rarely takes more than two hours to read the entire book. The humor is erratic; sometimes it's funny and sometimes it's unoriginal. Undead and Unwelcome is one of the funniest books in the series, mainly because Betsy makes silly observations on the ways of the werewolves.

The next two Queen Betsy books are Undead and Unfinished (2010) and Undead and Undermined, due out in July 2011.

                                 Undead and Unfinished (Queen Betsy, Book 9)       Undead and Undermined (Undead/Queen Betsy)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by - can't wait to see what you have to say!