Wednesday, July 8, 2020

If Books Could Kill by Kate Carlisle

photo courtesy of
Released: February 2010

If Books Could Kill is the 2nd novel in the Bibliophile Mystery series by Kate Carlisle. I'm completely obsessed with this cozy mystery series and am presently making my way through every one of these books! It's been a long time since I found myself enjoying a new cozy mystery. If Books Could Kill picks up just weeks after the ending of the 1st novel, Homicide in Hardcover.

The setting of If Books Could Kill is in Edinburgh, Scotland, where book restoration expert Brooklyn Wainwright is attending the Edinburgh Book Fair. While there, Brooklyn runs into an ex-boyfriend, who confides that he is in possession of a rare book that reveals secrets that could potentially change history surrounding the British monarchy. Moments later, the ex-boyfriend is found murdered and Brooklyn is tasked with identifying his killer to avoid being accused of homicide—yet again.

These Bibliophile mysteries are such fun, delightful reads—I finished this book in just under 24 hours because I didn't want to put it down. Brooklyn's humor and inner monologue is witty and highly entertaining—the latter of which also applies to the other regular characters in this series including Brooklyn's parents, her best friend Robin, her detective love interest Derek, and long-time archenemy Minka LeBoeuf.

My only gripe with If Books Could Kill is that it feels as though I missed some of the romantic buildup between Brooklyn and Derek. They went straight from bantering and to barely tolerating each other in the 1st book to being extremely flirty and lovey-dovey in this 2nd book. I feel that Carlisle could have allowed their romantic chemistry to gradually build up for at least a few more novels before making them so kissy-face and affectionate.

Overall, I loved If Books Could Kill, which ended much sooner than I wanted it to! Good thing I've already got books #3 and #4 on hand...

Check out my book review for Bibliophile Mystery #1: Homicide in Hardcover.

Here are the next several books in the Bibliophile Mystery series by Kate Carlisle, featured on

   3. The Lies That Bind (2010)
   4. Murder Under Cover (2011)
   5. One Book in the Grave (2012)
   6. Peril in Paperback (2012)
   7. A Cookbook Conspiracy (2013)
   8. The Book Stops Here (2014)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by - can't wait to see what you have to say!